The Sound of Silence….

Yesterday, I was feeling very neutral. Neutral feels strange and uncomfortable. I guess when anything is unfamiliar, it can lead to feeling unsettled.   As silly as this seems, I am not used to feeling level.

Today I sat at Starbucks for a while with a group of guys. There is one guy that just rubs me the wrong way. Usually, when I see this guy, I get this tight, anxious feeling in my chest. Typically, everything he says, I counter – without even pausing.  He says crude and judgmental things about everyone that passes by.  I want to yell at him and tell him to shut  up.   I want to make sure he knows that I know that he is not a nice guy.

Why do we sit in crap?  Sometimes I wonder how much annoyance, irritation or pain we have to feel before we get up and change seats.   I can spend a lot of time getting upset at myself for not changing fast enough but I really need to learn to be more gentle with myself.

So today I am not feeling anything. I don’t like the guy, but I don’t feel hostile toward him. The things he says still feel mean, but I just don’t care to hand him any of my serenity.   There may be a time when it will feel right to say something, but “Shut up” is definitely not it.

Is perception this easy? Maybe… maybe not. It seems to have changed without me thinking about it.  Whatever happened, I am really glad I never mouthed off and said anything.   So far, in my limited experience with sobriety, silence has been a powerful weapon and an even more powerful defense.   Progress?  I think so.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lynne on October 24, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    Reply

  2. Andrew, I’m struggling with kind of the same thing re: my job. My boss is the guy who is not so nice. I believe in the project, but I’m unhappy with most other aspects of the job. Is it worth it? Universe, help! Hang in there. Glad to see you writing. I followed you!

    Reply

    • Posted by Andrew on October 27, 2010 at 11:55 am

      So far it seems worth it. I keep hearing people say that if I just do tomorrow what I did today, another day passes. Sometimes the simplest things are freaking awesome!

      Reply

  3. Posted by Brian on October 27, 2010 at 8:10 am

    “We will know serenity and comprehend peace!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

